cannot login on first access.

The open source MySQL administration tool, http://www.phpmyadmin.net/
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
WillemGrooters
VMS Guru
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

cannot login on first access.

#1 Post by WillemGrooters »

In the process of transforming my webs from static to dynamic (at least, part of it) I installed the VMS port of MySQL 4.1. For management, I also installed PHPMyAdmin (latest version: 2.8.0.2), prepared the database (I thought) but now I cannot login using this product:

#1045 - Access denied for user '<user>'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

I'm sure that I entered username and password correctly and equal to what I specified in setting up. It's surely something stupid - what did I miss?


(Apache 2.1 + related stuff, on VMS 8.2 (AXP))

Willem

User avatar
WillemGrooters
VMS Guru
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

something different

#2 Post by WillemGrooters »

:oops: As usual - I should have read the manuals BEFORE doing anything.

Ok, that problem being solved, now for something different.
Now I can login, but I get:

#1273 - Unknown collation: 'utf8_unicode_ci'

That has to do with something in the area of used character set.
\is this an MySQL issue (I think so - can that be chnaged easily or do I have to drop the whole phpmyadmin database (or mysql as a whole - I used the script that was supplied with 4.1/VMS...) and create another one, or can I alter it on-the-fly (phpmyadmin is the first one added, so it's not a lot trouble to redo it)

User avatar
issinoho
Site Admin
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:53 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

#3 Post by issinoho »

Has phpmyadmin changed? Certainly in the version I am using (2.6.1) there was no need for a database schema for phpmyadmin itself, you simply pointed it at an existing MySQL instance.

My phpmyadmin install has a collation of utf8_general_ci and looking at the list of alternatives, the unicode collation in your error message is not listed as an option :?:

Try this link for starters, http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/4.1/en/ ... -sets.html

User avatar
WillemGrooters
VMS Guru
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#4 Post by WillemGrooters »

I don't know if, and in what extent, phpmyadmin has changed since 2.6, but the vertion I have running on my Windows box is 2.7.0 and when installing that, a database schema was added.

The funny part: I tried several things - rebuilding the phpmysql-schema using utf8_bin) but that didn't help. At and, I reversed it to the original and behold: :shock: I could start - although I got a message concerning the issue.

Not that is was 100% ok, since the phpmyadmin schema didn't show up, and I couldn't what I intend to: getting error #1043 (no text but the Mysql manual told me that this means kind of "protection violation". So I chnaged my login to allow everting, and tried to do the same from my VMS box.

Nope. :evil:

Again, this collation error. Also accessing is from elsewhere.

Anyway.I'll try utf8_general_ci

User avatar
issinoho
Site Admin
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:53 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

#5 Post by issinoho »

Is there a minimum supported version of MySQL for this version of phpmyadmin - worth rechecking the website, we may have a basic incompatibility between it and the VMS MySQL.

Also, try going back to say V2.6 just to check that it is OK on your system.

User avatar
WillemGrooters
VMS Guru
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#6 Post by WillemGrooters »

:( Bad site, in that respect: doesn't mention requirements in release notes (some pepole really need to be educated, IMHO). But the header specifies that 4.1 is supported. So that should be Ok.
I tried the help forums as well but didn't find an answerr there.

Another issue may be that php_mysql module might be an old one :x - pre-4.1 anyway. I got the same problem with the password and was able to bypass it - that too could be a problem. ( :?: Does anyone know of a GOOD ona available? :?: )

I could try 2.6 (latest) and see what's up there.

User avatar
WillemGrooters
VMS Guru
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

No need!

#7 Post by WillemGrooters »

No need to downgrade :D
:idea: I could get around the problem by changing the URL in the address line. That contains a part:

Code: Select all

&collation_connection=utf8_unicode_ci
Change that (in the URL!) to:

Code: Select all

&collation_connection=utf8_general_ci
and it's done! :lol:

Next - make that persistent, even when the cookies are cleaned. I guess that's something in the configuration.

User avatar
Marty
$ HELP
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oakland, Ca
Contact:

Add a line to the config file.

#8 Post by Marty »

By putting this in the config^.inc.php file

Code: Select all

$cfg&#91;'DefaultConnectionCollation'&#93; = 'utf8_general_ci';
and restarting SWB (the browser, not the webserver), it seems to work now.

SWB 1.7-11, MySQL 4.1.14, phpMyAdmin 2.8.0.4

User avatar
issinoho
Site Admin
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:53 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

#9 Post by issinoho »

Can you post a copy of your config^.inc.php file (obfuscate your personal details obviously) as I cannot get this to work at all and can't help feeling I'm doing something daft.

Many thanks.

User avatar
issinoho
Site Admin
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:53 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

#10 Post by issinoho »

Ok, this is weird.
I've got phpMyAdmin - 2.9.2 running flawlessly when using Firefox, however if I browse to the site in IE7, I get...

=============================
Error
MySQL said:

#1273 - Unknown collation: 'utf8_unicode_ci'
=============================

What's going on?

User avatar
WillemGrooters
VMS Guru
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Cache....

#11 Post by WillemGrooters »

cache of IE7, I think. I have the same problem with a number of sites, not just phpMyadmin.
Delete temoprary files and cookies (all or selective - your choice) and the problem is over...

Post Reply