Can't login as admin

Joomla! is a Content Management System (CMS) created by the same award-winning team that brought the Mambo CMS to its current state of stardom.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Marty
$ HELP
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oakland, Ca
Contact:

Can't login as admin

#1 Post by Marty »

Now that I have Joomla installed, I can't seem to login to the admin account. When I go to http://localhost/joomla/administrator/index.php and fill in admin for the username and joomlatest for the password (the password set during installation), it comes back with
Incorrect Username, Password. Try Again.
Using MySQL I checked the password, reset it just for grins, and it looks OK...

Code: Select all

$ mysql --user=root --pass=mysqlpwd
mysql> use joomla;
Database changed
mysql> select username,password,gid from jos_users;
+----------+------------------+-----+
| username | password         | gid |
+----------+------------------+-----+
| admin    | 7c6993dc7a434a7e |  25 |
+----------+------------------+-----+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)
mysql> update jos_users set password = old_password('joomlatest')
    -> where username='admin';
mysql> select username,password,gid from jos_users;
+----------+------------------+-----+
| username | password         | gid |
+----------+------------------+-----+
| admin    | 7c6993dc7a434a7e |  25 |
+----------+------------------+-----+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)
I'm confused.

User avatar
issinoho
Site Admin
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:53 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

#2 Post by issinoho »

Well the password reset won't have made any difference, Marty as that affects accounts stored within MySQL itself. Your admin account will be stored within a table in the Joomla database.

My advice would be to use a MySQL editor such as phpMyadmin, browse to the table containing the CMS users in the Joomla database and manually alter the password to the admin account.

Now, of course, the admin password will be encrypted, so you will need to edit the table in a specific way. This link is for Wordpress but I imagine the procedure for Joomla will be similar,

http://www.tamba2.org.uk/wordpress/phpmyadmin/

User avatar
Marty
$ HELP
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oakland, Ca
Contact:

I did 'use joomla'

#3 Post by Marty »

Check the MySQL statements again.

I did use the joomla database. I then checked the username, password and gid in jos_users. I then set the password to 'joomlatest' using both the regular password function and the old_password function, which came out to the same hashed password result. This confirmed that MySQL is using the old password routine that seems to be important for csws_php stuff.

Still confused.

User avatar
Marty
$ HELP
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oakland, Ca
Contact:

Hmm, not a good fix, but it is working now.

#4 Post by Marty »

I reinstalled joomla from scratch, and it seems to work now. I think MySQL is getting corrupted somehow, but I can't confirm it, yet.

User avatar
issinoho
Site Admin
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:53 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

#5 Post by issinoho »

Apologies for the misunderstanding. :oops:

User avatar
WillemGrooters
VMS Guru
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

MySQL version???

#6 Post by WillemGrooters »

Marty,
I guess you're using MySQL 4.1 - given you need to use "OLDPASSWORD" :) It is not a MySQL issue, but PHP_MYSQL in the PHP 1.3 package a sdeliveerd with HP: It's built agains MySQL 3.x, of 4.0. I had trouble with WORDPRESS (2.0.2) that were partly solved when I rebuilt it using MySQL 4.1, as has been described on http://www.pi-net.dyndns.org/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=64

User avatar
Marty
$ HELP
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oakland, Ca
Contact:

Yep, using the "latest" MySQL I can find

#7 Post by Marty »

i.e. JFP AXPVMS MYSQL V4.1-14

I tried to access the URL mentioned in the post "www.pi-net" but it timed out.

User avatar
Marty
$ HELP
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: Oakland, Ca
Contact:

Fingers crossed

#8 Post by Marty »

Seems the user database kept getting corrupted, so I coulndn't log in as admin because the admin entry had disappeared.

After the initial install I renamed the installation directory to installation_removed. This made it easier for me to do reinstalls without all the fuss and muss of unjarring, etc. To do the reinstall I did the following...

Code: Select all

$ rename installation_removed.dir installation
$ edit APACHE$COMMON:[joomla.installation.sql]joomla.sql
In the edit I replaced all the MyISAM references to InnoDB then went to http://localhost/joomla/installation/install1.php to skip to the good parts of the install. Make sure you selected the "Drop Existing Tables" checkbox, so it will create all new tables with InnoDB.

Once done rename the installation dir again.

It seems to work at the moment, and has survived some admin updates and a reboot.

Post Reply